Grant MacEwan University

Math 113/114 (Section 273) Elementary Calculus I, Winter 2010
Textbook: Calculus, Single Variable by James Stewart, 6-th edition
Lecture Time: 12:00pm - 2:00pm, Monday & Wednesday
Lecture Room: Room 7-277, City Center Campus

Instructor: Zhisheng Shuai
Office: Room 5-165, City Center Campus
Office Hours: 11pm - 11:50pm, Monday & Wednesday
Email: ShuaiZ (at) MacEwan (dot) ca

Course Outline/Assignment List
Math Help Centre Schedule @ Room 5-234

Lecture
Number
Date Material Covered /
Special Events
Remarks /
Additional Material
1 Wed Jan 6 Appendix A
2 Mon Jan 11 Appendix B, Appendix C
3 Wed Jan 13 Appendix D, Section 1.1 Assignment 1 is due on Mon Jan 18
4 Mon Jan 18 Section 1.2, Section 1.3 Hand Out: Shifting and Scaling
Assignment 2 is due on Mon Jan 25
5 Wed Jan 20 Section 2.2, Section 2.3 Solution for Assignment 1 is now posted
6 Mon Jan 25 Section 2.5 Assignment 3 is due on Mon Feb 1
7 Wed Jan 27 Section 3.1, Section 3.2 Sample Midterm I is now posted
Solution for Assignment 2 is now posted
8 Mon Feb 1 Section 3.3, Review Solution for Assignment 3 is now posted
9 Wed Feb 3 Midterm I Solution for Midterm I is now posted
10 Mon Feb 8 Section 3.3, Section 3.4 Assignment 4 is due on Mon Feb 22
11 Wed Feb 10 Section 3.4, Section 3.5 Lecture Notes(4.71MB) for Mon Feb 8 and Wed Feb 10 classes
No Class Mon Feb 15 Reading Week
No Class Wed Feb 17 Reading Week
12 Mon Feb 22 Section 3.6, Section 3.8 Assignment 5 is due on Mon March 1
13 Wed Feb 24 Section 3.9, Section 4.1 Solution for Assignment 4 is now posted
14 Mon March 1 Section 4.1, Section 4.2 Assignment 6 is due on Mon March 8
15 Wed March 3 Section 4.3 Sample Midterm II is now posted
16 Mon March 8 Section 4.4, Review Solution for Assignment 5 is now posted
17 Wed March 10 Midterm II Solution for Assignment 6 is now posted
18 Mon March 15 Section 4.4 Solution for Midterm II is now posted
Assignment 7 is due on Mon March 22
19 Wed March 17 Section 4.5
20 Mon March 22 Section 4.7 Assignment 8 is due on Mon March 29
21 Wed March 24 Section 4.9 Solution for Assignment 7 is now posted
22 Mon March 29 Section 5.1, Section 5.2 Assignment 9 is due on Wed Apr 7
23 Wed March 31 Section 5.3, Section 5.4 Solution for Assignment 8 is now posted
Assignment 10 is due on Mon Apr 12
No Class Mon April 5 Easter Monday
24 Wed April 7 Section 5.5 Solution for Assignment 9 is now posted
25 Mon April 12 Review (last class) Solution for Assignment 10 is now posted
Wed April 14 Final Exam at Gym 9am - 11am (door opens at 8:30am)