Mathematical Biology Seminar Series

For more information, contact Gerda de Vries or Mark Lewis
(devries(at)math(dot)ualberta(dot)ca, 492-4561)(mlewis@math.ualberta.ca, 492-0197)

Schedule for Winter 2004

(click on the date to view the abstract, and on the speaker's name to see his/her web site, if available)

Date

Time

Location

Speaker/Topic

Monday, Jan. 19

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Erik Noonburg
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Alberta
Resource allocation in variable environments

Monday, Jan. 26

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Dan Coombs
Department of Mathematics
University of British Columbia
Chirality Inversions Propagating on Bacterial Flagella
(Partially funded by PIMS)

Monday, Feb. 2

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Janet Elliott
Canada Research Chair in Interfacial Thermodynamics
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
University of Alberta
Mathematical and thermodynamics modeling in cryobiology

Monday, Feb. 9

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Amy Norris
McGill University and Genome Quebec Innovation Centre
Exploring large-scale gene and protein expression data

Monday, Feb. 16

 

 

No seminar (Statutory Holiday and Reading Week)

Monday, Feb. 23

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Troy Day
Departments of Mathematics & Biology
Queen's University
Modeling the Evolutionary Dynamics of Pathogen Virulence
(Partially funded by PIMS)

Monday, March 1

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Alex Potapov
Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
University of Alberta
TBA

Monday, March 8

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

TBA
TBA

Monday, March 15

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Gino Fallone
Division of Medical Physics, Department of Oncology
University of Alberta
Image-guided adaptive radiotherapy at the Cross Cancer Institute

Monday, March 22

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Michael Doebeli
Department of Mathematics
University of British Columbia
Adaptive speciation: theory and experiments
(Partially funded by PIMS)

Monday, March 29

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Christina Cobbold
Department of Mathematics
University of Glasgow
TBA
(Partially funded by PIMS)

Monday, April 5

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Birgitt Schoenfisch
Lehrstuhl Biomathematik
University of Tuebingen
TBA
(Partially funded by PIMS)

Schedule for Fall 2003

(click on the date to view the abstract, and on the speaker's name to see his/her web site, if available)

Date

Time

Location

Speaker/Topic

Monday, Sept. 8

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Frithjof Lutscher
Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
University of Alberta
A solution of the drift paradox

Thursday, Sept. 11

3:30 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Bryan Grenfell
PIMS Distinguished Visitor
Department of Zoology
Cambridge University
Comparative dynamics of childhood microparasitic infections and the impact of vaccination
(Partially funded by PIMS)

Monday, Sept. 15

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Bryan Grenfell
PIMS Distinguished Visitor
Department of Zoology
Cambridge University
Waves, sparks and wavelets: measles in space and time
(Partially funded by PIMS)

Monday, Sept. 22

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Michael Li
Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
University of Alberta
Immune Response to HTLV-I Infection and Backward Bifurcation

Monday, Sept. 29

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

No Speaker

Monday, Oct. 6

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Yuan Yuan
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Memorial University of Newfoundland
SPECIAL DEPARTMENT TALK - Recent Development of Normal Form Theory and its Applications

Monday, Oct. 13

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Thanksgiving - No seminar this week

Monday, Oct. 20

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Michael Mackey
Department of Physiology and Centre for Nonlinear Dynamics in Physiology and Medicine
McGill University
Mathematical models of gene regulation

Thursday, Oct. 23

3:30 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Bo Deng
Department of Mathematics
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Cracking the Neural Code
Departmental Colloquium

Friday, Oct. 24

2:00 p.m.

CAB 269

Dr. Bo Deng
Department of Mathematics
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ecological Time Scales, Stability, and Chaos
Joint seminar with DE&DS and AMI

(partially funded by PIMS )

Monday, Oct. 27

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Leeza Pachepsky
Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
University of California, Santa Barbara
When individuals make a difference

Monday, Nov. 3

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Prof. Pauline van den Driessche
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Victoria
Epidemic thresholds

Monday, Nov. 10

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Remembrance Day - No seminar this week

Monday, Nov. 17

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Prof. Fangliang He
Canada Research Chair in Biodiversity and Landscape Modeling
Department of Renewable Resources
University of Alberta
Occupancy, spatial variance, and the abundance of species

Monday, Nov. 24

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Bernard Roitberg
Behavioral Ecology Research Group
Department of Biological Sciences
Simon Fraser University
The importance of behavior to malaria epidemiology
(Partially funded by PIMS)

Monday, Dec. 1

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Hongmei Zhu
Departments of Radiology and Clinical Neurosciences
University of Calgary, and
Seaman Family MR Research Centre
Foothills Medical Centre, Calgary
A recent multi-scale time-frequency analysis and its biomedical applications

Tuesday, Dec. 2
AMI Seminar

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. Brian Sleeman
EFF Distinguished Visitor
Department of Applied Mathematics
University of Leeds
Partial differential equations of chemotaxis exhibiting blow-up, collapse , aggregation and spike behaviour.

Tuesday, Dec. 9

3:00 p.m.

CAB 657

Dr. James Watmough
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of New Brunswick
Disease transmission in human populations: simple models of a complex system
(partially funded by PIMS)