PIMS Mathematical Biology Seminar Series


Winter 2003

Date Speaker / Topic

Mon Jan 6

No seminar (First Day of Classes)
Monday, Jan. 13
Dr. Marc Roussel

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Lethbridge
Irregularly switched dynamical systems: Synchronization and enhanced wave propagation
(partially funded by PIMS)
Monday, Jan. 20
Dr. Chad Topaz

Department of Mathematics
Duke Unviversity
A simple kinematic model for two-dimensional swarms
Monday, Jan. 27
Dr. Erik Noonburg

Department of Zoology
Unviversity of Toronto
Spatial scale and spatial dynamics in biological invasions
Monday, Feb. 3
Dr. Bill Fagan

Department of Biology
Maryland University
Rarity and spatial scale in desert fishes: quantifying the linkage between
fragmentation and extinction risk across species

(partially funded by PIMS)
Monday, Feb. 10
Dr. Jack Tuszynski

Department of Physics
University of Alberta
From the Structure of Tubulin to the Function of Microtubules
Monday, Feb. 24
Dr. Sandy Anderson

Department of Mathematics
Dundee University
Mathematical Modelling of Solid Tumour Growth: Angiogenesis and Invasion
(partially funded by PIMS, BIO-X Speaker)
Monday, Mar. 3
Dr. Thomas Hillen

Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences
University of Alberta
Volume-Filling and Quorum-Sensing in Models for Chemotaxis
Monday, Mar. 10
Dr. Christina Cobbold

Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences Sciences
University of Alberta

Spatial and temporal impacts of parasitoid emergence time on the forest tent caterpillar
Monday, Mar. 17
Dr. Eirikur Palsson

Department of Biological Sciences
Simon Fraser University

A 3-D model to study interplay of cell adhesion and chemotaxis in multicellular systems.
Monday, Mar. 24
Dr. Alexei Potapov

Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences Sciences
University of Alberta

Climate and competition: the effect of moving range boundaries on habitat invasibility
Monday, Mar. 31
Dr. Marjorie Wonham

Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences Sciences
University of Alberta

Invasion Model for West Nile Virus
   
 

Date

Speaker/Topic
Thursday, Aug. 22
Dr. Michael Ward

Department of Mathematics
University of British Columbia
Pulse-Splitting and Oscillatory Instabilities of Localized Solutions to the Gierer-Meinhardt Model
Monday, Sept. 9
Dr. Alex Mogilner

Department of Mathematics and Center for Genetics and Development
University of California
How nematode sperm crawl
(partially funded by PIMS)
Monday, Sept. 16
Peter Schofield

Department of Mathematics
Dundee University
Wolbachia Invasion Waves
Monday, Sept. 23
Dr. Kelvin Jones

Department of Bioengineering
University of Alberta
Input-Output Functions of Mammalian Spinal Motoneurons
Monday, Sept. 30
Dr. Frithjof Lutscher

Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences
University of Alberta
Survival in fragmented habitats
Monday, Oct. 7
Dr. Elizaveta Pachepsky

Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
University of California, Santa Barbara
TBA
Monday, Oct. 14
Thanksgiving - No seminar this week
Monday, Oct. 21
Dr. Kelvin Jones

Department of Bioengineering
University of Alberta
Input-Output Functions of Mammalian Spinal Motoneurons
Monday, Oct. 28
Dr. Tomas Roslin

Metapopulation Research Group
University of Helsinki
Five ways to measure insect dispersal
Monday, Nov. 4
Dr. Rebecca Tyson

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Okanagan University College
A Minimal Mechanism of Bacterial Pattern Formation
(partially funded by PIMS)
Monday, Nov. 11


Remembrance Day - No seminar this week

Monday, Nov. 18
Dr. Brian Leung

Department of Biological Sciences
University of Notre Dame
Biological Invasions: Predictions, Risk, and Action

Monday, Nov. 25
Dr. H.I. Freedman

Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
University of Alberta
A Model for the Spread of Cancer by Metastasis with Treatment by Chemotherapy

Monday, Dec. 2
Yasmin Dolak

Vienna University of Technology
A Kinetic Theory Approach to Resolve the Chemotactic Wave Paradox

Mathematical Biology Seminar Series

For more information, contact Mark Lewis
(mlewis@math.ualberta.ca, 492-0197)

 

 

 

 

PIMS Mathematical Biology Seminar Series

 

Back to Seminars

 

Subscribe to the mathbio seminar announcements