About Us

Personnel 2007-08


Faculty and Awards:

There are three core faculty (de Vries, Hillen and Lewis).  Additional associated University of Alberta faculty (18 in total) are listed in Appendix A.  The excellence of the faculty was recognized with two awards: de Vries won an NSERC Discovery Accelerator Award, and Lewis a McCalla Fellowship.

New Faculty Positions:

The Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences hired one new faculty member in 2007-8 and are recruiting two in 2008-9:

  • Adriana Dawes commenced a three-year Max Wyman Assistant Professorship, July 1, 2008.
  • A Quantitative Biologist faculty recruitment (joint with Biological Sciences) is underway for 2008-9.
  • A Mathematical Biology faculty recruitment is also underway for 2008-9.

Support Staff:

Cecilia Hutchinson remains the Research and Administrative Coordinator for the Centre. Darren Griffith’s was hired in November, 2007, to replace Mark Duller, the Centre’s part-time Computer Analyst, who vacated his position on December 31, 2007.

Graduate Students and Awards:

  • Andria Dawson: Models for mixed wood forests, continuing PhD student (MITACS/NSERC Joint IPS Internship Award –Year 2, GSA Interdisciplinary Award).
  • Raluca Eftimie: Models for swarm formation, PhD completed May 1st. (Queen Elizabeth II fellowship, Josephine Mitchell Graduate Scholarship, AMI Graduate Lecture Award). Now a Postdoc with D. Earn, McMaster.
  • Jiafen Gong: Optimization of radiation treatment, continuing PhD student (UA Provost Doctoral Entrance Award, PIMS IGTC in Mathematical Biology Fellowship).
  • Chris Jerde: Modelling invasive species, PhD completed November 30th. Now a Postdoc with Notre Dame.
  • Martin Krkosek: Sea lice, salmon and aquaculture, PhD completed March 11th. Now a Postdoc with the University of Washington. (Governor General’s Gold Medal, Howard Alper Prize nominee from NSERC Earth Sciences and Ecology Committee, NSERC Post Doctoral Fellowship, MITACS Post Doctoral Internship with the David Suzuki Foundation, NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarship, NSERC Industrial Postgraduate Scholarship with The David Suzuki Foundation, NSERC Postgraduate Scholarship A (declined), National Geographic Society Research & Exploration Grant, and MITACS Best Student Paper Award for Krkosek et al., 2007).
  • Justin Marleau: Successional dynamics of Mt. St Helens, continuing MSc student (Walter Johns Fellowship, NSERC PGS Scholarship).
  • Jonathan Martin: Forest fire research, continuing MSc student (MITACS Industrial Internship).
  • Hannah McKenzie: Instream flow needs and river dynamics, PhD candidate (Alberta Ingenuity Fund Fellowship).
  • Peter Molnar: Modelling polar bear dynamics, continuing PhD candidate.
  • Harshana Rajankaruna: Population viability models for invasive aquatic species, continuing PhD candidate.
  • Diana White: Dynamics of body composition, continuing MSc student. MITACS Internship and the Mary Louise Imrie Graduate Student Award.

Postdoctoral Researchers and Awards:

  • Petro Babak: Forest fire modelling (MITACS/PIMS Industrial Postdoctoral Fellow)
  • Caroline Bampfylde: Mathematical models for aquatic invasive species (NSERC Collaborative Research Opportunity).  Now with Alberta Environment.
  • Tomas de Camino Beck: Quantitative models for mountain pine beetle (MITACS). Now a Postdoc with Penn State.
  • Frank Hilker: Mathematical models for stream dynamics (Alberta Ingenuity Fund Fellowship). Now faculty at Lisbon.
  • Frederic Hamelin: Differential games in animal behaviour (PIMS/CNRS Postdoctoral Fellow). Now faculty with Agrocampus Rennes, France.
  • Martin Krkosek: Sea lice, salmon and aquaculture, June 1 to August 31, 2008 (MITACS Internship).
  • Jim Muirhead: Models for predicting invasive aquatic species spread (NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship).

Research Associates:

  • Alex Potapov: Integrated systems for invasive species (US National Science Foundation).

Undergraduate Students:

  • Andrew Hanson: Development of Instructional Modules in Mathematical Biology (CRYSTAL)
  • Vishaal Rajani:  Single Particle Tracking Analysis (NSERC USRA 2007 & 2008)

High School Students:

None this year.