Current Research Group

   Wang research group works on several areas of mathematical biology as diverse as

modeling stoichiometry-based ecological interactions, microbiology, infectious diseases,

habitat destruction and biodiversity, risk assessment of oil sands pollution, spatial memory

and cognition. Mathematical models include ODE, DDE, PDE, SDE, IDE.

Dr. Hao Wang is always keen to hear from well-qualified prospective graduate students,

postdocs, and visitors who want to work on the above areas. For quality postdocs,

please consider applying for a Banting, PIMS, NSERC or Killam fellowship and send me your CV.

 

 

  Hao Wang, PI (FGSR Great Supervisor Award, Josephine Mitchell Mentoring Award,

  NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement Award, Early Career Award at MBI,

  NSERC Early Career Researcher Supplement Award)

  Email: hao8@ualberta.ca

 

  Xiunan Wang, Postdoc (PhD from University of Memorial Newfoundland)

  Email: xiunan@ualberta.ca

  Future position: will be a tenure-track Assistant Professor at University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

 

  Kyeongah Nah, Postdoc (PhD from University of Szeged)

  Email: kyeongah@ualberta.ca

 

  Jingjing Xu, Postdoc (PhD from University of Western Ontario)

  Email: ji9@ualberta.ca

 

  Christopher Heggerud, PhD student (NSERC CGSM Scholarship, Alberta Innovates - Graduate Student Scholarship)

   Email: cheggeru@ualberta.ca

 

   Yurij Salmaniw, PhD student (Alberta Graduate Excellence Scholarship, NSERC PGS D Scholarship,

   President's Doctoral Prize of Distinction, Entrance Scholarship, Pundit RD Sharma Memorial Graduate Award,

   Josephine Mitchell Scholarship, Eoin L. Whitney Scholarship, Graduate Student Teaching Award)

   Email: salmaniw@ualberta.ca

 

  Pablo Venegas Garcia, PhD student (CONACyT Scholarship)

   Email: venegasg@ualberta.ca

 

  Shohel Ahmed, PhD student (University of Alberta Doctoral Recruitment Scholarship)

   Email: shohel2@ualberta.ca

 

  Colleen Davies, MSc student (Entrance Scholarship, Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship-Master, Josephine Mitchell GS4 Scholarship)

   Email: cmd2@ualberta.ca

 

  Xiaotian Hua, MSc student (Alberta Graduate Excellence Scholarship, Honors Bachelorí»s Degree at U of A)

   Email: xhua@ualberta.ca

 

   Shao-ting Ge, research associate

   Email: shaotingge@gmail.com

 

   Julian Pavon, visiting student

   Email: JulianPavon@gmx.de

 

   Xingshi Luo, visiting student

   Email: xingshi@ualberta.ca

 

 

Past group members:

  Jude Kong, PhD student (Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship-Doctoral, Josephine Mitchell Scholarship,

  GS4 Josephine Mitchell Graduate Student Scholarship, PIMS Graduate Student Training Acceleration Award,

  Graduate Student Teaching Award, NSERC postdoctoral research fellow, Doctoral Dissertation Award)

  Email: jdkong@ualberta.ca

  Current position: Postdoc at Princeton University and DIMACS, now a tenure-track Assistant Professor at York University in Canada

  Recent accomplishment: The leading PI for $1.25 M grant í░Predictive modeling and forecasting of the transmission of COVID-19

  in Africa using Artificial Intelligenceí▒ awarded by IDRC.

  Current email: jdkong@yorku.ca

 

  Qihua Huang, Postdoc (PhD from University of Louisiana at Lafayette)

  Email: qihua@ualberta.ca

  Current position: Professor at Southwest University in China

  Current email: qihua@swu.edu.cn

 

 Chaochao Jin, MSc (Bachelorí»s Degree from University of Science and Technology of China)

 Email: chaochao@ualberta.ca

 Current position: Manager for Risk Models, Bank of Montreal Financial Group

 

  Aditya Raghavan, Postdoc (PhD from University of Southern California)

  Email: araghava@ualberta.ca

 

  Silogini Thanarajah, PhD (PIMS IGTC Scholarship), Postdoc for half a year

  Email: silogini9@gmail.com

  Current position: Instructor at the University of Alberta

 

 Maryam Khajeh Alijani, MSc (switched to another area)

 Email: khajehal@ualberta.ca 

 

Xihui (Eric) Lin, MSc (JM Mitchell Graduate Scholarship, Bachelorí»s Degree from University of Science and Technology of China)

Email: xilin@math.ualberta.ca

Current position: Research Software Develop Engineer, Microsoft Corporation

 

William Davis, MSc (Alexander Graham Bell NSERC Scholarship)

Email: wdavis@math.ualberta.ca

 

Nicholas Piazza, MSc (MITACS Internship, not completed)

Email: npiazza@math.ualberta.ca

 

 Zexian Lu, CSC visiting student (from Nankai University), now a PhD student at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities

  Email: zexian@ualberta.ca

 

  Lijun Wang, CSC visiting student (from Zhejiang University)

  Email: lijun1@ualberta.ca

 

Shayenne Herder, Undergraduate student (NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award)

Email: shayenne@ualberta.ca

 

Laura Parshotam, A visiting student from The University of York, UK (May-August, 2011), now a graduate student at University College London (UCL)

Email: lep506@york.ac.uk

 

  Xiaoyan Deng, visiting scholar

  Email: 1000002412@ujs.edu.cn

 

  Lina Zhang, visiting scholar

  Email: lina-zhang@outlook.com

 

  Yian Yao, MITACS intern student, now a PhD student at Georgia Institute of Technology

  Email: yianyao1994@hotmail.com

  

   Xuantao Chen, IUSEP student, now a PhD student at Johns Hopkins University

  Email: nbhf9802@gmail.com