COURSE SCHEDULE

If this page appears out-of-date, please press the reload/refresh button on your web browser. Thanks!

This schedule is subject to change, especially during the first few weeks of the course.

Week

Date

Topic/Event
Graduate
Students
Welcome?
1
Thu Jan 7
Introduction

2
Thu Jan 14
Reading assignment: The Science of Scientific Writing
In-class: Group discussion and editing/revision exercise
Yes
3
Thu Jan 21
Due: One-page description of your project
In-class: Peer review activity
Yes (interested students must hand in a one-page project overview and participate in the peer review activity)
4
Thu Jan 28
Reading assignment: Chapter 12 from Scientists Must Write
In-class: Group discussion and exercise
Yes
5
Thu Feb 4
In-class: Mathematicians Must Speak (the DOs and DON'Ts of Giving Effective Mathematical Presentations)
Yes
6
Thu Feb 11
In-class: Blitz presentations and peer review
No
7
Thu Feb 18 (reading week)
No class
N/A
8
Thu Feb 25
Due: Project Report Introduction
In-class: Introduction to academic posters
Yes
9
Thu Mar 4
Prior to class: Critique of a research poster
In-class: Poster field trip to floors 4-6 of CAB
Yes (interested students must participate in the poster review activity)
10
Thu Mar 11
Reading assignment: D.R. Hess, How to Write an Effective Discussion, Respiratory Care 49:1238-1241, 2004
In-class: Group discussion
Yes
11
Thu Mar 18
Due: Draft of Project Report
No class today!
N/A
12
Thu Mar 25
In-class: Activity on writing an effective abstract
Yes

Mon Mar 29
Due: Anonymous Peer Review N/A
13
Thu Apr 1
No class today!
N/A
14
Thu Apr 8
In-class: Poster consultations
N/A
Tue Apr 13
Due: Final Project Report

Public poster presentations
CAB 649 (Lounge)
13:30 - 15:30
Yes