Current Post Doctorates and Students

Name & Position Contact Information Research Interests
David Ballantyne 

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Master Student

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-4394

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email dballant@math.ualberta.ca

- Measure-valued stochastic processes

- Filtering theory

- Multi-object tracking

Calvin Chan

Dept. of Computing Science

Univ. of Alberta

M.Sc Student

Supervisor:Paul Lu, Duane Szafron 

Tel. (780) 492-3725

Cell (780) 990-7348

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email calvinc@cs.ualberta.ca

Web page www.cs.ualberta.ca/~calvinc

- Software Language Systems

- Software Engineering

- Numerical Computing

Hubert Chan

Tel. (780) 492-4394

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email hubert@math.ualberta.ca

- Algorithms, complexity,combinatorics 

 

Jarett Hailes

Project Manager

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Ugrad. in Computing Science 

Industrial Internship Student

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-0215

Cell (780) 903-7215

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email jhailes@math.ualberta.ca 

- Financial Applications

- Algorithm Optimization

Nikki Hu

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Ugrad. in Computing Science 

Industrial Internship Student

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-0215

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email nikki@math.ualberta.ca

- Numerical programming

- Software developing.

- Computer Graphics

James Huang

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

PhD student

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Email Jamsholy9553@hotmail

- Nonlinear filtering and its application

- Time series analysis and Econometric

- Stochastic Analysis

Cody Hyndman Email cbhyndman@math.uwaterloo.ca

   
Surrey Kim 

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-4394

Fax (780) 492-6826

Email surrey@math.ualberta.ca

- Artificial Intelligence,

- Computer Graphics,

- Combinatorics

Hongwei Long 

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Post Doctorate

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-0205

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email long@math.ualberta.ca

Web page www.math.ualberta.ca/~long/hlong.html

- Stochastic partial differential equations

- Filtering theory and its application

- Stochastic control and optimization

Jesse McCrosky

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Ugrad. in Computing Science 

Industrial Internship Student

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-0215

Fax (780) 492-6826

Email mccrosky@math.ualberta.ca

 
Cristina Popescu 

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Ph.D Student

Supervisor: Wong

Tel. (780) 492-3396

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email popescu@math.ualberta.ca

- Dynamical System, Ergodic Theory

- Filtering, Nonlinear Time Series.

Liam Stewart

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Ugrad. in Computing Science 

NSERC Summer Student

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-0215

Fax (780) 492-6826

Email liam@math.ualberta.ca

- Machine Learning

Wei Sun 

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Post Doctorate

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-5851

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email wsun@stat.ualberta.ca

Web page www.math.ualberta.ca/~weis/homepage.html

- Filtering,

- Dirichlet forms and Markov processes

- Stochastic analysis 

Richard Van Weelden

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Ugrd. Mathematics Student 

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-0215

Fax (780) 492-6826

Email vanweeld@math.ualberta.ca

- Filtering,

Xingqiu Zhao

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Post Doctorate

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-0205

Fax. (780) 492-6826

Email xzhao@math.ualberta.ca

- Stochastic process models and applications

- Nonlinear time series analysis

- Survival analysis

- Biostatistics

Jonathan Wiersma

Dept. of Mathematical and Statistical Science

Univ. of Alberta

Ugrad. in Computing Science 

Industrial Internship Student

Supervisor: Kouritzin

Tel. (780) 492-0215

Fax. (780) 492-6826 

Email jwiersma@math.ualberta.ca 

- Artificial Intelligence &Heuristics

- Algorithms

- Computer Graphics

- Physical Simulations