Text Box: Text Box: Page #
Text Box: and international workshops and conferences last summer, and the quality of their work has been acknowledged. I would like to especially mention that Claudia Caia presented a paper at the 12th Annual Conference of the CFD Society of Canada, and her paper was among 12 that were selected for publication in the International Journal of Computational Fluid Dynamics. Cristina Popescu won the Jefferson Goblet Award granted by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics for one of the most outstanding student papers presented at the 43rd AIAA/ASME/ASCE/AHS/ASC Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Material Conference. Gustavo Carrero won the poster prize at the MITACS Annual General Meeting.

    The Department will establish the Dr. Josephine M. Mitchell Graduate Research Prize and Dr. Josephine M. Mitchell Graduate Scholarships this year, and we hope this will further increase the quality of our graduate programs. The purpose of these awards is to attract and retain strong graduate students. I would like to thank Dr. Jim Muldowney for drafting the proposals for these awards.
	I would like to share some good news regarding a former graduate student.  Dr. Maria Klawe who obtained her B.Sc. degree (1974) in Mathematics and her Ph.D. degree (1977) in Mathematics in the Department of Mathematics will be moving to Princeton University as the Dean of Engineering beginning January 2003. Dr. Klawe is finishing up her term as Dean of Science at the University of British Columbia.

    Finally, we wish our graduate students a successful and productive year in their 2002-03 graduate programs.
Text Box: 	    We would like to welcome all graduate students for this exciting new year.

	    Thirty-four new graduate students joined us this Fall, and our total enrollment has reached 120.  This number was our target stated in the previous five-year plan, and we have now reached our target early.
	During a recent survey in the mathematics and statistics graduate programs in other Canadian universities, it seems that the largest graduate enrollment is at Waterloo with 134 students from three departments in Pure Math, Applied Math, Statistics and Actuarial Science. We are in second position but should rank first if the enrollment is based on a single department.

    I am very pleased to report that the quality of our graduate students is strong. This year, two students were awarded the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarships, one student with the Alberta Ingenuity Scholarship, one student with a Province of Alberta Graduate Fellowship and two students with dissertation Fellowships. Our new graduate students are quite successful in major UofA scholarship competitions, and we have four F. S. Chia Ph.D. Scholarships and one Master's Thesis-based Scholarship. Our graduate students have also demonstrated the quality of our programs: two of our recent Ph.D. students have been awarded NSERC Postdoctoral Research Fellowships. The names of the award recipients are listed separately. 

    Many of our graduate students have participated in national Text Box: U of A Masterís Scholarship recipients
	Shawn Desaulniers

Alberta Ingenuity Award
	Derek Postnikoff

2002 Killam Scholarship Recipients
	Kathleen Dohan
	Christina Popescu

2002 Province of Alberta Scholarship Recipient:
	Jeong-Yup Lee

34 new incoming graduate students
120 graduate students overall.

Text Box: 2002 Graduate Student Association Representatives:
	Kathleen Dohan	Selly Kane
	Wenxiang Liu	Ovidiu Voitcu

2002 Graduate Student Teaching Award Recipients
	Lynn Dover		Monica Ilie
	Stephen Sullivan	Cynthia Yau

2002 NSERC PGSA Recipient
	Sam Hillier

2002 NSERC PDF Recipients
	Razvan Anisca
       Liping Liu

New F.S. Chia recipients
	Xinghua Deng	Raluca Eftimie
	Jan Rychtar		Qian Wang

Text Box: Associate Chair of Graduate Studies
Y.S. Wong

Mathematical & Statistical Sciences Newsletter