Alberta High School Mathematics Competition Report on the Second Round of the 53rd Contest

Sponsors:

ConocoPhillips Canada, Calgary,
Peter H. Denham Memorial Fund, Edmonton,
A K Peters, Publishers, Natick, MA USA,
Greenwoods' Bookshoppe, Edmonton,
Canadian Mathematical Society,
Mathematics Council, Alberta Teachers' Association,
Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences,
University of Calgary, and
University of Alberta.

The second part of the 53rd Alberta High School Mathematics Competition was written on February 2, 2009 by 59 students representing 15 schools. Here is the list of fellowship winners and top performers.

ConocoPhillips Canada Fellowship, First Places:

Danny Shi, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, and Jarno Sun, Western Canada High School, Calgary.

Canadian Mathematical Society Fellowship, Third Places:

Hunter Spink, Western Canada High School, Calgary, Grade 10, and **Noble Zhai**, Western Canada High School, Calgary.

Alberta Teachers' Association Grade XI Fellowship, Ninth Place:

Yishen Huang, Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.

Alberta Teachers' Association Grade X Fellowship, Fifth Place:

Kaiven Zhou, Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton.

Robert Barrington Leigh Memorial Fellowship, Eighth Place:

Mariya Sardarli, McKernan Junior High School, Edmonton, Grade 9.

Honorable Mentions:

6	Yaroslav Babich	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, Grade 10.
7	Zili Huang	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.
10	Isaac Lin	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, Grade 10.
11	Andrew Qi	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, Grade 10.
12	Meng Zhao	Western Canada High School, Calgary, Grade 10, and
	Jaclyn Chang	Western Canada High School, Calgary, Grade 11.
14	Michael Wong	Western Canada High School, Calgary, Grade 11.
15	Yuri Delanghe	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, Grade 11, and
	Di Mi	Western Canada High School, Calgary, Grade 11.
17	Tony Zhao	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
18	Tim He	Henry Wisewood High School, Calgary, Grade 10.
19	Justine Zhang	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, Grade 10, and
	Michael Meiers	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, Grade 11.