Alberta High School Mathematics Competition Report on the First Round of the 54th Contest

Sponsors:

ConocoPhillips Canada, Calgary,
Peter H. Denham Memorial Fund, Edmonton,
A K Peters, Publishers, Wellesley, MA, USA.
Greenwoods' Bookshoppe, Edmonton,
Canadian Mathematical Society,
Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences,
Mathematics Council, Alberta Teachers' Association,
University of Calgary, and
University of Alberta.

Individual Results.

The first part of the 54th Alberta High School Mathematics Competition was written on November 17, 2009 by 612 students. These consist of 291 girls and 321 boys. The numbers of students in Grades VIII, IX, X, XI and XII are respectively 17, 204, 181 and 210.

Here are the top individuals:

#	Pt	Name	School
1	100	Soroosh Hemmati	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
2	97	Philip Ma	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
3	95	Mariya Sardarli	Strathcona High School, Edmonton (Grade X), and
		Hunter Spink	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
5	90	Kaiven Zhou	Strathcona High School, Edmonton (Grade XI), and
		Edward Xu	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary.
7	87	Di Mo	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
8	85	Jaclyn Chang	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
9	84	Weiye Ren	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, and
		Hanyang Wang	Crescent Heights High School, Calgary.
11	82	Yaroslav Babich	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
12	81	Desmond Sisson	Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary (Grade VIII),
		and	
		Justine Zhang	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
14	80	Michael Meiers	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton.
15	78	Weilian Chu	Grandview Heights Jr High School, Edmonton (Grade IX),
		and	
		Lucia Xu	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
17	77	Hamza Riaz	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
18	76	Meng Zhao	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
19	75	Tim He	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
		Nicholas Adamski	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, and
		Michael Yang	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary.

#	Pt	Name	School
22	74	Saima Asad	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
		Peter Gustainis	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI), and
		Yuri Delanghe	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.
25	73	Phoebe Chang	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
		Tyler Morton	Winston Churchill High School, Lethbridge, and
		Yifan Wang	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
28	72	Soha Hemmati	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade X),
		Christine Ahn	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
		David Kang	Western Canada High Schoool, Calgary (Grade XI),
		Stephanie Bohaichuk	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton,
		Heelan Kwon	Western Canada High School, Calgary,
		Fernando Lopes	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, and
		Annie Zheng	Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary.
35	71	Reka Szepesvari	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI), and
		Michael Shirt	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.
37	70	Aneesh Jaydeep	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade X),
		Hanhyung Lee	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X),
		James Lin	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade X),
		Cody Wang	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade X),
		Harris Wang	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X),
		Eddie Park	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
		Yichen Wu	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Mufan Li	Western Canada High School, Calgary, and
		Calvin Tseng	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
47	69	Rachel Han	Grandview Heights Jr High School, Edmonton (Grade IX),
		Hee-Joo Nam	Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary (Grade IX),
		Aowei Xu	Bev Facey High School, Sherwood Park (Grade X),
		Marie Konrad	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, (Grade X),
		Nam Song	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
		Peggy Jankovic	Archbishop MacDonald High School, Edmonton, and
		Mengya Wang	Western Canada High School, Calgary.

Team Results.

The contest was written by 27 schools, 3 not entering a team. There are 8 schools from Zone I (Calgary) with 242 students, 3 schools from Zone II (Southern Rural Alberta) with 50 students, 10 schools from Zone III (Edmonton) with 219 students and 6 schools from Zone IV (Northern Rural Alberta) with 101 students.

Here are the top teams:

Rank	Score	Team Members and Manager
1	280	Western Canada High School, Calgary, with
		Soroosh Hemmati, Hunter Spink and Jaclyn Chang,
		managed by Ms. Renata Delisle.
2	256	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, with
		Philip Ma, Weiye Ren and Nicholas Adamski,
		managed by Ms. Meriel Hughes.
3	250	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, with
		Di Mo, Yaroslav Babich and Justine Zhang,
		managed by Mr. Neil Hamel.
4	245	Strathcona High School, Edmonton, with
		Mariya Sardarli, Kaiven Zhou and F. Hackett/J. Lambert,
		managed by Ms. Marian O'Brien.
5	240	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary, with
		Edward Xu, Tim He and Michael Yang,
_		managed by Mr. Alex Watt.
6	222	Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary, with
		Desmond Sisson, Annie Zheng and Hee-Joo Nam,
_	220	managed by Ms. Sharon Reid.
7	220	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, with
		Michael Meiers, HanHyung Lee and Harris Wang,
0	01.4	managed by Mr. Ihor Lytviak.
8	214	Crescent Heights High School, Calgary, with
		Hanyang Wang, Katerina Brown and Sergiu Lucut,
0	200	managed by Ms. Allison Reine.
9	209	Grandview Heights Jr School, Edmonton, with
		Weilian Chu, Rachel Han and Chengjia Zhu,
10	200	managed by Ms. Wendy Sorenson. Analysisher MacDonald High School Edmonton with
10	209	Archbishop MacDonald High School, Edmonton, with Peggy Jankovic, Linshan Li and Hui Wang,
		managed by Mr. John Campbell.
		managed by Mir. John Campben.

Other participating schools are:

Zone I:

Bishop Carroll High School (Ms. Marilyn Blackhall), Calgary Science School (Mr. Kevin Sonico) and Lord Beaverbrook High School (Ms. Barbara Savidant). William Aberhart High School (Mr. Jim Kotow) registered for the contest, but was unable to hold it on the day.

Zone II:

Canmore Collegiate High School (Ms. Patti Fairhart-Jones), McCoy High School (Mr. Rob Burzminski), Oilfields High School (Mr. Chris Hughes) and Winston Churchill High School (Ms. Terri Yamagishi).

Zone III:

Holy Trinity High School (Mr. Len Bonifacio), J. Percy Page High School (Ms. Deanne Matthews), McNally High School (Mr. Neil Peterson), Tempo School (Mr. Lorne Rusnell) and Vimy Ridge Academy (Ms. Delcy Rolheiser).

Zone IV:

Archbishop Jordan High School (Ms. Marge Hallonquist), Ardrossan Jr/Sr High School (Ms. Rebecca Gustafson), Bev Facey High School (Ms. Alena Weppler), J. A. Williams High School (Mr. Matt Dyck) and Parkland High School (Ms. Joanna James). Fort Saskatchewan High School (Mr. Al Speer) registered for the contest, but was unable to hold it on the day.