Alberta High School Mathematics Competition Report on the First Round of the 53rd Contest

Sponsors:

ConocoPhillips Canada, Calgary,
Peter H. Denham Memorial Fund, Edmonton,
A K Peters, Publishers, Wellesley, MA, USA.
Greenwoods' Bookshoppe, Edmonton,
Canadian Mathematical Society,
Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences,
Mathematics Council, Alberta Teachers' Association,
University of Calgary, and
University of Alberta.

Individual Results.

The first part of the 53rd Alberta High School Mathematics Competition was written on November 18, 2008 by 564 students. These consist of 267 girls and 297 boys. The numbers of students in Grades IX, X, XI and XII are respectively 5, 192, 169 and 198.

Here are the top individuals:

Rank	Score	Name	School
1	100	Mariya Sardarli	McKernan Junior High School, Edmonton (Grade IX).
2	97	Yaroslav Babich	Sir Winston Churchill High School (Grade X),
		Philip Ma	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade X),
		Yishen Huang	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI),
		Di Mo	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
		Stella Zhao	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
		Tyson Geib	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary,
		Zili Huang	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, and
		Tom Liu	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
10	95	Hunter Spink	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Kaiven Zhou	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X),
		Danny Shi	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary,
		Jarno Sun	Western Canada High School, Calgary, and
		Xing Shuo Zhao	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
15	94	Jaclyn Chang	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Ellen Lloyd	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Maninder Longowal	Tempo School, Edmonton.
		Alan Shapiro	Tempo School, Edmonton.
19	92	Jonathan Chu	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
		Tony Zhao	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.

Rank	Score	Name	School
21	91	Phoebe Chang	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Skyline Mi	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
23	90	Chen Liu	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
24	89	Eliza Pan	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
		Justine Zhang	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Nicholas Adamski	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
		David Szepesvari	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.
		Bill Xia	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton.
		Annie Xu	Old Scona Academic High Schoool, Edmonton.
30	87	Yiwei Feng	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
		Tim He	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Isaac Lin	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Joe Ou	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
		Andrew Qi	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
		Jennifer Yu	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
		Meng Zhao	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Andersen Qian	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Edward Xu	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Anna Yu	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
		Zhen Zhang	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
41	86	Annie Zhang	Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Jason Zhao	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
43	85	Stephanie Bohaichuk	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
		Michael Wong	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Tianqiao Chen	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
		Simon Han	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
47	84	Michael Meiers	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
		Michael Shirt	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
		Adam Humeniuk	Westmount Charter School, Calgary.
		Jacky Tian	Western Canada High School, Calgary.

Team Results.

The contest was written by 24 schools, 3 not entering a team. There are 7 schools from Zone I (Calgary) with 257 students, 4 schools from Zone II (Southern Rural Alberta) with 39 students, 9 schools from Zone III (Edmonton) with 176 students and 4 schools from Zone IV (Northern Rural Alberta) with 92 students.

Here are the top teams:

Rank	Score	Team Members and Manager
1	291	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, with
		Philip Ma, Yishen Huang and Zili Huang,
		managed by Ms. Meriel Hughes.
2	289	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, with
		Yaroslav Babich, Di Mo and Danny Shi,
		managed by Mr. Neil Hamel, and
		Western Canada High School, Calgary, with
		Stella Zhao, Tom Liu and Hunter Spink,
		managed by Ms. Renata Delisle.
4	278	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary, with
		Tyson Geib, Ellen Lloyd and Tim He,
		managed by Mr. Michael Retallack.
5	276	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, with
		Kaiven Zhou, Jonathan Chu and Eliza Pan,
		managed by Mr. Ihor Lytviak.
6	264	Tempo School, Edmonton, with
		Maninder Longowal, Alan Shapiro and Jaskiran Sandha,
		managed by Mr. Lorne Rusnell.
7	245	Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary, with
		Annie Zheng, Kaitlyn Chow and Tavian Barnes,
		managed by Ms. Sharon Reid.
8	227	Ross Sheppard High School, Edmonton, with
		Mark Nahornick, Cedric Wong and Robin Chen,
	24.5	managed by Mr. Jeremy Klassen.
9	215	Westmount Charter School, Calgary, with
		Adam Humeniuk, Paul Kathol and Jonathan Wan,
4.0	200	managed by Mr. Sandy Miller.
10	209	Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park, with
		Sam Borynec, Harrison Levangie and Erin MacKinnon,
		managed by Ms. Marge Hallonquist, and
		Vimy Ridge Academy, Edmonton, with
		Scott Ritchie, Arthur Gordon and Bianca Cioceanu,
		managed by Ms. Delcy Rolheiser.

Other participating schools are:

Zone I:

Bishop Carroll High School (Ms. Marilyn Blackhall) and Father Lacombe (Mr. Rio Roculan).

Zone II:

Brooks High School (Ms. Lynne Morris), McCoy High School (Mr. Rob Burzminski), Oilfields High School (Mr. Chris Hughes) and Winston Churchill High School (Ms. Terri Yamagishi).

Zone III:

Archbishop MacDonald High School (Mr. John Campbell), Holy Trinity High School (Mr. Len Bonifacio), McKernan Junior High School (Mr. Ward Patterson) and McNally High School (Mr. Niel Peterson).

Zone IV:

Ardrossan Jr/Sr High School (Ms. Rebecca Gustafson), Lloydminster High School (Ms. Kathleen Bracken) and New Serapta School (Ms. Khristin Elford & Ms. Crystal Elton). St. Gabriel the Archangel School (Ms. Adrienne Busch) registered for the contest, but was unable to hold it on the day.