Alberta High School Mathematics Competition Report on the First Round of the 51st Contest

Sponsors:

ConocoPhillips Canada, Calgary,
Peter H. Denham Memorial Fund, Edmonton,
A K Peters, Publishers, Wellesley, MA USA.
Greenwoods' Bookshoppe, Edmonton,
Canadian Mathematical Society,
Mathematics Council, Alberta Teachers' Association,
Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences,
Alberta Ingenuity Centre for Machine Learning,
University of Calgary, and
University of Alberta.

Individual Results.

The first part of the 51st Alberta High School Mathematics Competition was written on November 21, 2006 by 731 students. These consist of 290 girls and 441 boys. The numbers of students in Grades VIII, IX, X, XI and XII are respectively 1, 23, 192, 292 and 223.

Here are the top individuals:

Rank	Score	Name	School
1	100	Jarno Sun	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Boris Braverman	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
		Jeffrey Mo	William Aberhart High School, Calgary.
4	95	Jerry Lo	Ross Sheppard High School, Edmonton.
5	91	Hunter Spink	Calgary Science School, Calgary (Grade VIII).
6	90	Danny Shi	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Gary Yang	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Andrew Zheng	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
9	88	Wen Wang	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
10	86	Yu Xiang Liu	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Michael Wong	Tempo School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
12	85	Melissa Chung	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
		Linda Zhang	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
14	84	Di Mo	Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary (Grade IX).
15	83	William Wong	Ross Sheppard High School, Edmonton.
16	81	Cindy Qian	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.
		Alex Sampaleanu	Saint Francis High School, Calgary.
		David Ting	William Aberhart High School, Calgary.
19	80	Philip Hogg	William Aberhart High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Jay Ye	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary.
		Yu Liu	Western Canada High School, Calgary.

Rank	Score	Name	School
22	79	David Szepesvari	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
		Lillian Wang	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Kyle Boone	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Victor Feng	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Victor Zheng	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
27	78	Alex Chen	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Cindy Liu	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton.
29	77	Li Han	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
		Hyunbin Jeong	Old Scona Academic High School.
31	76	Dustin Styner	Queen Elizabeth Junior/Senior High School, Calgary.
		Kevin Trieu	Ross Sheppard High School, Edmonton.
		Prudence Wu	William Aberhart High School, Calgary.
34	75	Brett Baek	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Patrick Pringle	Crowsnest Consolidated High School, Coleman.
		Jie Yu	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
37	74	Sophia Zhang	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Stephen Portillo	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton.
		Simon Sun	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
40	73	Tom Liu	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade X).
		Shervin Ghafouri	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
		Matthew He	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
		Graham Hill	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
		Sumayr Sekhon	Tempo School, Edmonton.
45	72	Edward Choi	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		David Liu	Winston Churchill High School, Lethbridge (Grade XI).
		Darren Xu	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
		Jason Shin	William Aberhart High School, Calgary.
		Travis Woodward	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
		Linda Yu	Western Canada High School, Calgary.

Team Results.

The contest was written by 33 schools, 4 not entering a team. There are 12 schools from Zone I (Calgary) with 434 students, 7 schools from Zone II (Southern Rural Alberta) with 54 students, 9 schools from Zone III (Edmonton) with 128 students and 5 schools from Zone IV (Northern Rural Alberta) with 115 students.

Here are the top teams:

Rank	Score	Team Members and Manager
1	280	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, with
		Boris Braverman, Danny Shi and Gary Yang,
		managed by Mr. Patrick Ancelin.
2	278	Western Canada High School, Calgary, with
		Jarno Sun, Andrew Zheng and Wen Wang,
		managed by Ms. Renata Delisle.

Rank	Score	Team Members and Manager
3	261	William Aberhart High School, Calgary, with
		Jeffrey Mo, David Ting and Philip Hogg,
		managed by Mr. Jim Kotow.
4	254	Ross Sheppard High School, Edmonton, with
		Jerry Lo, William Wong and Kevin Trieu,
		managed by Mr. Jeremy Klassen.
5	245	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, with
		Melissa Chung, Cindy Qian and David Szepesvari,
		managed by Ms. Jacqueline Coulas.
6	231	Queen Elizabeth Junior/Senior High School, Calgary, with
		Di Mo, Dustin Styner and R. Wang/M. Wanless,
		managed by Ms. Sharon Reid.
7	229	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, with
		Cindy Liu, Hyunbin Jeong and Stephen Portillo,
		managed by Mr. Lorne Pasco.
8	227	Tempo School, Edmonton, with
		Michael Wong, Sumayr Sekhon and Maninder Longowal,
		managed by Mr. Lorne Rusnell.
9	215	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary, with
		Jay Ye, Javier Romualdez and Patricia Rohs,
		managed by Mr. Michael Retallack.
10	204	Bishop Carroll High School, Calgary, with
		Sean Heisler, Connor Kjersteen and Allison Yuen,
		managed by Ms. Susan Osterkamp.

Other participating schools are:

Zone I:

Calgary Science School (Ms. Martina Metz), Central Memorial High School (Mr. Gerald Krabbe), John Diefenbaker High School (Mr. Terry Loschuk), John Ware Junior High School (Ms. Gail Slen), Rundle College High School (Ms. Rachel Hinz) and St. Francis High School (Ms. Allison van de Laak).

Zone II:

Canmore Collegiate (Ms. Patti Fairhart-Jones), Cardston High School (Ms. Debbie Fletcher), Crowsnest Consolidated High School (Mrs. Jodi Peebles), Foothills High School (Ms. Audra Schneider), Prairie Christian Academy (Mr. Robert Hill), Strathcona-Tweedsmuir School (Ms. Nola Adam) and Winston Churchill High School (Ms. Terri Yamagashi).

Zone III:

Archbishop MacDonald High School (Mr. John Campbell), Concordia High School (Ms. Jenny Kim), Jasper Place High School (Ms. Nadine Molnar), McNally High School (Mr. Neil Peterson) and St. Francis Xavier High School (Ms. Joanne Stepney).

Zone IV:

Archbishop Jordan High School (Ms. Marge Hallonquist), Ecole Secondaire Marguerite d'Youville (Ms. Lisa La Rose), Father Patrick Mercredi High School (Mr. Ted Venne), Leduc High School (Ms. Corlene Balding) and Paul Kane High School (Mr. Percy Zalasky).