First Round Winners

Part I Individual Prizes

First Prizes – A K Peters Scholars:

2006/2007 Jarno Sun	Western Canada High School, Calgary, (Grade X),
Boris Braverman	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, and
Jeffrey Mo	William Aberhart High School, Calgary.
2007/2008 Linda Zhang	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
2008/2009 Mariya Sardarli	McKernan Junior High School, Edmonton (Grade IX),
2009/2010 Soroosh Hemmati	Western Canada High School, Calgary,
2010/2011 Mariya Sardarli	Strathcona High School, Edmonton, (Grade XI), and
Hunter Spink	Western Canada High School, Calgary,
2011/2012 Julian Salazar	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary,

First Prizes –CRC Scholars:

2012/2103 Weilian Chu	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton,
-----------------------	---

Second Prizes:

2007/2008 Danny Shi	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI), and
Jarno Sun	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
2008/2009 Yaroslav Babich	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade X),
Philip Ma	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade X),
Yishen Huang	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI),
Di Mo	Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
Stella Zhao	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI),
Tyson Geib	Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary,
Zili Huang	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton, and
Tom Liu	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
2009/2010 Philip Ma	Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
2011/2012 James Lin	Western Canada High School, Calgary.
2012/2013 Fengwei Tian	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).

Third Prizes:

2009/2010 Hunter Spink	Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI).
Mariya Sardarli	Strathcona High School, Edmonton (Grade X).
2010/2011 Weilian Chu	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, (Grade X).

2011/2012 Weilian Chu	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, (Grade XI),
Chen Fan	Western Canada High School, Calgary, and
Dante Bencivenga	Notre Dame High School, Red Deer.
2012/2013 Michael Ru	Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, (Grade XI).

Grade 11 Prizes:

2006/2007 Gary Yang 2007/2008 Jacky Tian 2008/2009 Jaclyn Chang Ellen Lloyd 2009/2010 Kaiven Zhou 2010/2011 Dante Bencivenga YuanChen Feng 2011/2012 Nikolaus Yasui 2012/2013 Hanjie Zhu Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary. Western Canada High School, Calgary. Western Canada High School, Calgary, and Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgaray. Strathcona High School, Edmonton. Notre Dame High School, Red Deer, and Western Canada High School, Calgary. Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton. Western Canada High School, Calgary.

Grade 10 Prizes:

2006/2007 Danny Shi 2007/2008 Jaclyn Chang 2008/2009 Hunter Spink Kaiven Zhou 2009/2010 Soha Hemmati 2010/2011 Ethan White Linda Zhao 2011/2012 Desmond Sisson 2012/2013 Darren Li Ling Long Henry Song Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary. Western Canada High School, Calgary. Western Canada High School, Calgary, and Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton. Western Canada High School, Calgary. Westmount Charter School, Calgary, and Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary. Western Canada High School, Calgary. Western Canada High School, Calgary. Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, and Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton.

Robert Barrington Leigh Memorial Prize:

2006/2007 Hunter Spink 2007/2008 Hunter Spink Mariya Sardarli 2009/2010 Desmond Sisson Weilian Chu 2010/2011 Michael Ru Desmond Sisson 2012/2013 Jeffrey Zhou Calgary Science School, Calgary (Grade VIII). Calgary Science School, Calgary (Grade IX), and McKernan Junior High School, Edmonton (Grade VIII). Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary (Grade VIII). Grandview Heights Junior High School, Edmonton (Grade IX). Vernon Barford Junior High School, Edmonton (Grade IX), and Queen Elizabeth Jr/Sr High School, Calgary (Grade IX). Westmount Charter School, Calgary (Grade VIII).

Zone I First Prizes:

2006/2007 Andrew Zheng, Western Canada High School, Calgary.
2007/2008 Spencer Boone, Western Canada High School, Calgary (Grade XI), and Wen Wang, Western Canada High School, Calgary.
2008/2009 Danny Shi, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary, Jarno Sun, Western Canada High School, Calgary, and Xing Shuo Zhai, Western Canada High School, Calgary.
2009/2010 Edward Xu, Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary.
2010/2011 Yaroslav Babich, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
2011/2012 Michael Tu, Western Canada High School, Calgary.
2012/2013 Tim Xia, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.

Zone I Second Prizes:

2006/2007 Wen Wang, Western Canada High School, Calgary. (Grade XI).
2009/2010 Di Mo, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary.
2010/2011 Megan Liang, Western Canada High School, Calgary, (Grade XI).
2011/2012 Bai Li, Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary,
Wen-Li Looi, Henry Wise Wood High School, Calgary, and
Alexander Martin, Western Canada High School, Calgary.

Zone II First Prizes:

2006/2007 Patrick Pringle, Crowsnest Consolidated High School, Coleman.
2007/2008 Naheed Jivraj, Strathcona Tweedsmuir School, Okotoks.
2008/2009 Stuart Pritchard, Winston Churchill High School, Lethbridge (Grade XI).
2009/2010 Tyler Morton, Winston Churchill High School, Lethbridge.
2010/2011 Jeremy Kroeker, Oilfields High School, Black Diamond.
2011/2012 Joval Kvill, New Norway School, New Norway.
2012/2013 Branden Powell, Oilfields High School, Black Diamond.

Zone II Second Prizes:

2006/2007 David Liu, Winston Churchill High School, Lethbridge (Grade XI).
2007/2008 Stephen Reimer, Prairie Christian Academy, Three Hills.
2008/2009 Ashley Anctil, McCoy High School, Medicine Hat.
2009/2010 Stuart Pritchard, Winston Churchill High School, Lethbridge.
2010/2011 Alonso Hoven, Notre Dame High School, Red Deer (Grade XI).
2011/2012 Sean Bettac, Notre Dame High School, Red Deer.

2012/2013 Aspen Kozak, Springbank Community High School, Calgary (Grade XI).

Zone III First Prizes:

2006/2007 Jerry Lo, Ross Sheppard High School, Edmonton.
2007/2008 Michael Wong, Tempo School, Edmonton.
2008/2009 Maninder Longowal, Tempo School, Edmonton, and
Alan Shapiro, Tempo School, Edmonton.
2009/2010 Weiye Ren, Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.
2010/2011 Philip Ma, Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.
Jennifer Yu, Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton, and
Kaiven Zhou, Strathcona High School, Edmonton.
2011/2012 Giavanna Valacco, Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade XI).
2012/2013 Thomas Kim, Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton (Grade X), and
Theodore Chow , Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton.

Zone III Second Prizes:

2006/2007 Michael Wong, Tempo School, Edmonton (Grade XI). 2007/2008 David Szepesvari, Harry Ainlay High School, Edmonton (Grade XI). 2009/2010 Michael Meiers, Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton. 2011/2012 Harris Wang, Old Scona Academic High School, Edmonton.

Zone IV First Prizes:

2006/2007 Benjamin Nay, Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park (Grade XI).
2007/2008 Sarah Prior, Ardrossan Jr/Sr High School, Ardrossan.
2008/2009 Sam Borynec, Archbiship Jordan High School, Sherwood Park (Grade XI).
2009/2010 Aowei Xu, Bev Facey High School, Sherwood Park (Grade X).
2010/2011 Mark Lawley, Westwood High School, Fort McMurray (Grade XI).
2011/2012 Cole Zacharko, Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park.
2012/2013 Chelsea Greschner, Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park.

Zone IV Second Prizes:

2006/2007 Devon MacInnis, Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park.
2007/2008 Brenna Pickell, Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park.
2008/2009 Jason Morawski, Ardrossan High School, Ardrossan.
2009/2010 Haley Kosolofsky, Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park.
2010/2011 Mark Lawley, Westwood High School, Fort McMurray (Grade XI).

2011/2012 Nicholas Rogers, Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park. 2012/2013 Joseph Kaup, Archbishop Jordan High School, Sherwood Park.